
Hello!
We woke up bright and early today again to get ready for the first day of school take two! Steve always gets the first shower in the morning and says that the water is barely lukewarm. That´s too bad for him, because he warms up the water for me so that by the time I get in the shower, it´s so hot I can almost swim through the steam. Haha. Steve is a good friend.
Ok, so we woke up, Steve had a cold shower, I had a hot shower, we had coffee and breakfast. Then we had to find a bank with a good exchange rate so we could pay the teacher. That went fairly well except we couldn´t understand the guy behind the desk and just signed and put our fingerprints on papers whatever he pointed at us. So we may have promised away our first children and/or unwittingly enlisted in the Chilean army.
Back at school, Steve as you may know has already had six years of Spanish and I´ve had about 3 hours. As you can imagine, I was lost a lot. So Steve got a gold star for today and I sat in the corner with a dunce cap. Poor me. We learned some basics like how to conjugate "to be" etc. We also learned the names of body parts which should come in handy later. Steve also learned some naughty words. I told him they were inappropriate, but to no avail.
Afterwards we went out to find lunch. We´d heard a dish called chupe de locos (abolone bread pudding according to the internet) was quite good so we walked to the ocean to find a place that served it. I thought it was great, but Steve thought it was.... okay. Actually I´m pretty sure he despised it and now he despises me. I know I´m going to be punished for this for a while. I guess I´ll have to make it up to him by starting tomorrow morning with a cold shower. Anyway, time for a little studying before bed. I want a gold star too.
Love, Janet and Steve